Yoga Philosophy & Raising Energy Levels

image graphic text yoga basics lotus flower text terms, sounds symbols, journaling balloon
Learn Yoga- Yogic Lifestyle & Common Yoga Terms Demystified
February 16, 2018
graphic digital drawing of light language by Yukia
Energy Healing- Healing through Sound and Light Language Workshop with Yukia
March 7, 2018

Yoga Philosophy helps us understand how we can raise our Energy Levels. The philosophy of an ancient practice. The science behind its connection to Raising your energy level and vibration. The Art of Yoga is the magic behind Yoga Philosophy. Understanding how to use it in your practice and daily life.

Understanding Yoga Philosophy for better Home Practice

Yoga philosophy is complex and beautiful. It is the art of getting in touch and in tune with your body & your higher self. God, the god within you. Your energy, being, truth or whatever else you call it. It is the art of understanding and completely loving yourself. Your creation, all creations and the source you belong to.

Understanding Prana and it’s relation to Yoga Philosophy

illustration of Prana the fundamental component of Yoga Philosophy

“There is an intimate connection between the breath, nerve currents and control of the inner prana or vital forces. Prana becomes visible on the physical plane as motion and action, and on the mental plane as thought. Pranayama is the means by which a yogi tries to realize within his individual body the whole cosmic nature, and attempts to attain perfection by attaining all the powers of the universe “

Swami Sivananda

Prana is Life Force Energy in Yoga Philosophy

Prana is often referred to as life force or life energy. It is the mystical energy that flows through our bodies. Generating action and thought. It is breath. Cosmic breath or cosmic consciousness. The energy of being. Prana travels through ‘channels’ called nadis to every cell in the body. The three main nadis in the body are Ida, Pingala and Shusumna.

The Ida and Pingala nadis are commonly compared to the two hemispheres of the brain. Ida refers to the right hemisphere of the brain in psychology. The left nostril in the body. It represents feminine energy. Mental activity, night, moon and subconscious. Pingala refers to the left hemisphere of the brain in psychology. Right nostril in the physical body. It represents Masculine energy. Logical thinking, sun and Conscious mind. These nadis start at the base of the spine. Travelling upwards. Coinciding with each other at the chakra points.  Connecting to the opposite side of the nostrils. Right nostril controls the left hemisphere. Left nostril controls the right. The Shusumna is the nadi which pranic energy flows and deals with Kundalini Awakening. 

Nostril dominance & Brain Hemisphere understanding

Why is Prana a fundamental of Yoga Philosophy?

Prana highers your vibration and consciousness. Pranayama aids in better dealing with low energy levels. Stress, anxiety, over thinking and Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD). Pranayama brings breath and life force- consciousness into mind. Utilising daily breath control techniques (Pranayama) helps reduce mental conditioning. Making you more conscious of what triggers it. How to use your breathing to control feelings, actions and thoughts.

Mudras are a fundamental practice of Yoga Philosophy

Mudra is translated into English as a gesture. Mudras can be described as emotional, devotional and psychic gestures. These are essentially experienced as gestures of energy flow. Mudras are a combination of subtle physical movements. They alter perception, mood and attitude through energy.

Understanding Prana Shakti

Prana Shakti relates to the primordial cosmic energy that governs all physical functions. Prana is the life force energy. Shakti is associated with the creative energy. There are three types of Shaktis which all deal with energising the body, mind and being. Prana Shakti the body. Chitta Shakti the mind. Atma Shakti is associated with the soul or being. Creative energy is governed by Prana Shakti in the body.

Prana Shakti and Chitta Shakti should be in balance to open the door for Atma Shakti to flow. The harmony of this flow raises energy levels and consciousness. Allowing the Yogi to be calmer. More confident. At peace with body, mind and being.

The Meaning of Shanti

Shanti meaning peace in Sanskrit. Often chanted as a mantra three times at the end of a Yoga practice or meditation. It is kind of like a vibrational affirmation you are sending out into the universe.

Sadhana they key to reaching Samadhi in Yoga Philosophy

picture depicting Sadhana and how it is incorporated into Yoga Philosophy

Sadhana means dedicated and disciplined practice. It is often related to daily Yoga practice. Consciousness, Mindfulness and Wellbeing practice. To reflect on yourself, your day or your emotions and feelings. With a couple of stretches or basic yoga poses, you really will feel more energised daily. Understand Sadhana better.

Ashtanga or The Eight Limbs of Yoga

According to the Yogi sage Patanjali who created the Yoga Sutras. There is an eight-step approach to controlling the mind. This is called Ashtanga in Sanskrit.  It is the process of self-realisation. Through 8 limbs of Yoga. Dedicating yourself to the 8 limbs will lead to self-realisation. Unifying body, mind and being or soul.

  1. Yama- Kind of like a “moral discipline” think in terms of non-violence and non-attachment
  2. Niyama- “Personal ethics” and “moral  observance” It is the absorption of learning inner self
  3. Asana- Body posture, purifying body through Yoga Poses
  4. Pranayama- Breath retention, bringing consciousness and the flow of life itself
  5. Pratyahara- “Withdrawal of senses”, I like to call this having the power to not be a slave to your senses
  6. Dharana- “Concentration”
  7. Dhyana- “Meditation”
  8. Samadhi- “Bliss”, state of peace, joy and contentment, happy just being

More reading for understanding 8 Limbs of Yoga

Understanding The Chakras & The Energy Body

Picture illustrating the Chakra System and the Energy Body which is what Yoga Philosophy is all about

The Chakras and Ida, Pingala & Sushumna Nadi


Chakra means a spinning wheel. Chakras are energy points in the body. These energy points help prana move to different parts of the body. There are several nadis or channels coming out of each chakra. The Chakras represent the 5 elements and beyond.


Think of a Chakra as an Energy Portal. Every Chakra deals with a specific set of emotions that governs feelings. The Base Chakra deals with insecurity and fear in the energy body. Responsible for alignments from the hips down. Like lower back pain, sciatica, diarrhoea, constipation, or problems with hips, knees and ankles.

I need to Understand More about The Chakra System

Understand The Chakra System better by reading my Base Chakra Healing Guide or Sign up and get a Free Chakra Guide – Balancing the Chakra System with Meditation and Mudras:

I hope this inspires you to dig a little deeper into your brain and unlock the magic of your being. Learn Yoga at Home for beginners with this intricate guide to understanding yoga Philosophy.

If you would like to dive deeper into your practice and you feel as though you need a teacher or mentor you can connect with me for private or online classes.

1 Comment

  1. Pamela says:

    Hello there! I just wish to offer you a big thumbs up
    for your excellent information you’ve got here on this post.
    I will be coming back to your website for more soon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *